Benefits for Unemployed in the UK? Advice Required

Discussion in 'A+' started by cebi, Jul 5, 2008.

1. cebi

cebi Bit Poster

Hi all,

I am a BSc Computing Graduate, after reading the thread by Zimbo @ http://www.certforums.co.uk/forums/thread11894.html

I decided to go the self study route. I currently live in london and found a near test centre from Pearson Vue.

I will firstly take the Comptia A+ exam, I will be revising from one book recommended by zimbo: A+ Certification All-in-one Exam Guide by Mike Meyers.

1) What I want to know is, I am on benefits (Job Seekers Allowance) I have seen a post on this forum by someone talking about Free Exam and Books provided for people on benefits. I pm the person but didnt get a reply so if anyone has any information about this please share it.

2) Other than that I heard about a bunch of Live Tutorials where you can watch on your PC, for example for MCSE, the person demonstrate the practical side in a video to help you prepare for the exams. And also dummy exam questions to practice. Where can I get these? who provides them? etc.

Thank You For Your Help.

Certifications: BSc Computing
  2. del_port

del_port Byte Poster

just ask your local college,the course and the books are free of charge for the unemployed,this has been the case since last summer.The government are funding the course.
    The only thing you'll need to pay for is exams,the total is £130- for those [which is half price,purely because you attended college],so whoever said this part is free is wrong,the books are free,the exams are not.
    If you are going the self study route the exams will be the full price because you haven't went the college route.

Certifications: A+ and MCDST 70-271
    WIP: mcdst 272
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator