Beginning A+

Discussion in 'A+' started by BrooonAle, Oct 14, 2007.

1. BrooonAle

BrooonAle New Member

With regards to studying for the A+ course, is the basic method to buy one of the recommended books then just study until you think you're ready to sit the exam?

Excuse the question, but I'm just starting out!

Certifications: NVQ 2 Information Technology
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

It is most definately the cheapest way to do the A+.

It may not be the best way for you personally to do the A+, but unless you try you'll never know! :biggrin

3. BrooonAle

BrooonAle New Member

Cheers, I should be alright with that method.

Do I require another cheaper PC to practice on too?

4. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Generally, the folks here at CF recommend buying Michael Meyers All-In-One A+ Exam Guide and perhaps one other book just for comparison. Getting an inexpensive used PC is also good so you have a machine to practice on without risking your "production" machine (the PC you use for gaming, Internet, email, and so forth).

That said, as Si mentioned, not everyone takes to the self-study route. I tried that a number of years ago, but because I had absolutely no experience with computer maintenance, I couldn't grasp many of the concepts (I was hopeless at IRQs, for instance) and was afraid to even take the cover off the box.

In my case, I took a two year course at my local uni on computer hardware, software, and network support. It gave me the foundation I needed so I could build up from their using self study and applied work experience. It really all depends on how you learn and what process you use to acquire new skills.

You know yourself better than we do. When you want to learn something new, how do you go about it?

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  5. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome

I agree with whats been said.