Been Offered a Team Leader Role

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by mad_maxx, Feb 15, 2009.

1. mad_maxx

mad_maxx Bit Poster

Hi there,

I've been working in IT for the last 6 years, during which I have predominantly worked in 2nd/3rd line desktop support roles, though I have been working in server support for the past 6-7 months.

I recently applied for an internal team leader position and have been offered this, though the pay increase is a modest £2.5k - which takes my wage up to £25 K per annun.

While I'm very happy and excited to have been offered the job, it also represents a long term commitment in terms of me staying in the role long-term. I do not feel that the wage is sufficient to warrant this. I know the company can pay more than this - they are recruiting senior server engineers at £27 K per annun. In a way, I feel rather under valued.

I recently declined a desktop support role offering £26K, and was also approached by a job agency regarding a desktop role offering £28-£32 K per annun. At this stage I chose to stay with my current company, as I had every faith that I would have prospects there, both in terms of career development and remuneration.

I haven't recently been circulating my CV on job sites etc, but I'd imagine that with the credit crunch etc, vacancies and wages will be siginificantly reduced to how they were last year.

In a way I feel tempted to take the job, but then in another I feel it would be wrong for me to accept it not being 100% happy on what I'm earning.

I'd be happy to do the job for £27K+, but not £25 k. Am I being too greedy or should I put my foot down on this one?

Cheers

MaX

Certifications: MCSE:Messaging
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Is there a potential for a pay increase if you take the team lead job? Say after a year or so....

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+