Bad advice re fixing problems

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by Colloghi, Mar 5, 2007.

1. Colloghi

Colloghi Kilobyte Poster

I just wonder is it a common site to see really bad advice given to customers, when the solution is often very simple and straightforward, as i seem to hear of such and such told me to this, which results in a problem worst than the original problem

As an example, take this. There is a student forum i use with an IT section and some of the replies to peoples question just plain annoys me. I know im not an expert and will happily hold my hand up to anything i dont know, but the advice given on to some of these are just plain ridiculous

One girl i read today, had lost her password to log on to XP, whislt someone replied you can change it, but im not sure how. Others replied with non-helpful answers and one guy even told her, she would have to format her entire drive:ohmy

is this common out there in the IT world? and whats the worst advice you have heard

Certifications: A+, MCP 270, 271, MCDST
    WIP: 290
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Yes, but the good news is that it just not limited to the IT world. It's the same in other fields (plumbing, electrical, car mechs, etc).

Lots of people will give out the knowledge that they have, or have read/heared, etc. Some people will have limited knowledge, other people will have alot, at the end of the day it's down to the individual asking the question to determine whether or not the infomation given is good or bad. And that comes down to research from a good range of sources and not just one person/source...

-ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. Mr.Cheeks

Mr.Cheeks 1st ever Gold Member! Gold Member

if in doubt - google it!

4. csx

csx Megabyte Poster