Backup solution without downtime

Discussion in 'Networks' started by moviemaker, Jan 21, 2008.

1. moviemaker

moviemaker New Member

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Guys,

Newbie here.

I've just started to work for a company who have a SBS server in place with a DAT tape backup solution in place. There are about 3 employees within the company.

Can you guys help and advise which is the best way to have a good backup in place without losing a lot of down time.

Could we build a second machine identocal to the main domain controller and use this to copy data from the PDC?

The idea is if the main server fails, we would like to put something else in it's place asap.

What would be the best option.

2. BrizoH

BrizoH Byte Poster

If you have a spare server and/or disk it might be worth looking into System Centre Data Protection Manager 2007

Certifications: CCNA, CCNA Security
    WIP: CCNP
  3. JohnBradbury

JohnBradbury Kilobyte Poster

In a normal domain environment you could add a second domain controller which would take over the authentication of users if the first failed. You could also mirror the data across these servers [there are a number of ways to do this].

However SBS Edition is limited and I believe one of those limits is that you can only run one copy of SBS in a domain. Add to that an inability to trust other domains.

I suppose you could have a cold standby but this would be a very expensive way of going about it.

4. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

With SBS and a company that only has 3 employees they have to expect downtime as it doesn’t justify have loads of servers for the amount of staff.

The best option is to make sure the SBS is a high spec (RAID 5, 2 PSUs etc.) and if it does go bang then make sure you have a spare server at another site. 8)