Average salary for I.T / PC Technician job

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by fatp, Sep 13, 2008.

1. fatp

fatp Byte Poster

Hey Guys.

I just got my first pay rise and am now on 16k per annum. I have been working as a technician for just over 7 months and have got some really good experience at my work place. I do pc desktop support, first / second line on the phone, AD, some server expsoure, AV equipment etc.

I was wonderin what the salary for an I.T tech was? with some experience and outside of london. I in the midlands btw.

fatp.

2. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

UKDarkstar Terabyte Poster

Difficult one to answer.

It depends on where you're situated (ok, so you're in the Midlands) as well as what size company you're working for and what you do.

I'd say the range is prob £11 1/2k to £18k down near me (Bournemouth area) with the average somewhere in the middle.

Certifications: BA (Hons), MBCS, CITP, MInstLM, ITIL v3 Fdn, PTLLS, CELTA
    WIP: CMALT (about to submit), DTLLS (on hold until 2012)
  3. Arroryn

Arroryn we're all dooooooomed Moderator

I work in the Midlands too. I'd say for your level of experience and the exposure that you're getting, that's not a bad wage. I can't really say what the 'average' is as there are far too many variables (as already mentioned by UKD).

But don't worry. You're not on a bad packet :)

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, 70-410, 70-411
    WIP: Modern Languages BA
  4. craigie

craigie Terabyte Poster

Congrats on the pay rise!

The salary seems OK.

Certifications: CCA | CCENT | CCNA | CCNA:S | HP APC | HP ASE | ITILv3 | MCP | MCDST | MCITP: EA | MCTS:Vista | MCTS:Exch '07 | MCSA 2003 | MCSA:M 2003 | MCSA 2008 | MCSE | VCP5-DT | VCP4-DCV | VCP5-DCV | VCAP5-DCA | VCAP5-DCD | VMTSP | VTSP 4 | VTSP 5
  5. Arroryn

Where abouts are you Craigie? You should be Second Line by your appraisal, shouldn't you? (remember threads where things were going particularly well for you...)

6. craigie

craigie Terabyte Poster