Problem Asus M5a97 bios update has killed it... I think??

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by shadowwebs, Jun 23, 2012.

1. shadowwebs

shadowwebs Megabyte Poster

When I built my new PC, I purchased an Asus M5A97 motherboard... really good reviews of this board, and comes with Asus software that allows you to download and install the bios flash update from within Windows.

I have never done a bios flash update before, as always felt that risk of killing the system is not really worth it... so as the software allowed update whilst in Windows (downloads the latest packages from the asus website automatically, then installs), rebooted the PC as prompted and now the PC does not boot, I can get in to BIOS which shows the updated package reference, but upon exiting BIOS it just gets stuck on a blank page with a cursor flashing... cannot enter anything at this point.

Any ideas?

- - - Updated - - -

for further information... the bios update that has been applied was "1208"

Certifications: compTIA A+, Apple Certified Technical Coordinator 10.10 (OS X Yosemite, Server and Support)
  2. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

Has it changed the boot device order?

NB

Certifications: 70-210, 70-215, A+,N+, Security+
    WIP: MCSA
    shadowwebs likes this.
  3. shadowwebs

shadowwebs Megabyte Poster

just tested it now, looked at boot order and for god knows what reason it set the external hard drive as the default boot device...

thanks for the suggestion, I guess my panic earlier when it wasn't booting made me think I had bricked my motherboard, rather than trying to troubleshoot... I presume this has happened to yourself before?

Thanks again

Certifications: compTIA A+, Apple Certified Technical Coordinator 10.10 (OS X Yosemite, Server and Support)
  4. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

Yep:rolleyes: