Are there really no worthwhile training providers?

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by surf_uk, Oct 15, 2008.

1. surf_uk

surf_uk New Member

Hi everyone, brilliant forum you have here, wish I had discovered it months ago!

I am a softy developer, trying to get away from IT support, but still want to keep up my windows, linux and network skills. I have had about 4 years experience developing software and maintaining pc's servers etc. I have done my degree in computer science and an MSc in mobile computing, so I got the ground work covered. I have found myself developing more and more in c# .net and fancy the MCPD course.

I have a training budget that I need to use, its roughly £5000, which I have to use. I am looking to get certified with Microsoft, Java and possibly Linux. I am a lazy kinda guy and would prefer someone talk at me than read a book, the bootcamps look good providing I do a lot of homework before hand.

The next question is where?! easy right, there must be thousands of people offering certification training?! However being based in the UK any search results in disappointment: either £7k for one bootcamp course! or £3k for a 1day/week course (which would probably cost more than £7k in the long run accounting for travel).

Time for plan B: scour the sponsored section of google results! I found Koenig training in India, they have a much cheaper option and even 1-on-1 training (so they say). About £1.5k per course including accommodation and exams!

My question is: am I missing something obvious, or are there really no worthwhile options in the UK for certification training? And how trustworthy are Koenig and how reputable would the qualification be (what are the pitfalls?).

Cheers! any help appreciated ! :)

P.S. Sun Java seem to advertise courses, prices and locations on their website, why don't MS do this?

Certifications: UNI(Computer Sci. BSc & Mobile Cmp. MSc)
    WIP: MCPD
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award