Apprenticeships...Good idea?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by James.M, Jun 15, 2011.

1. James.M

James.M New Member

Hi everyone,

Through listening to some great advice on here, it has come to my attention to be employable, experience is the major factor. I have no experience and no qualifications in the ICT field and am in the transition from Army to Civilian.

I am 25 years old and have reasonable outgoings, but im single and can learn to budget. I am thinking of taking an apprenticeship to gain experience aswel as gain a few qualifications along the way.

Is this a good idea? What should I expect to gain or look for? If the apprenticeship qualifications are NVQ for instance, is it a good idea to further study and complete my CompTIA and other exams on the side?

The reason I have come to this conclusion is primarily to gain experience and get a more 'hands on' approach to learning in a working environment.

Your feedback as always is very much appreciated.

2. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

Well you need the quals and the experience. I have a level three NVQ as a motor vehicle technician, and what that entailed was 4 days of being at work, and one day at college, now depending on what placement you got depended on how well you progressed. By that i mean some employers were genuime and took apprentices on to kepp them in their place if they could, but always with the intentino of training them up, i mean, they were getting cheap labour and it was legal, but it helped me in writing up what i had done during the week, rather than just reading a book.