Anyone failed an exam?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by hailstorm, Aug 17, 2007.

1. hailstorm

hailstorm Bit Poster

This is my first post here. I'm currently studying towards my MCSA cert. Got 790 and 791 to go. 790 coming up end of this month. Already got my MCDST cert.

I see a lot of people post when they have passed but I'm curious if anyone has failed an exam and would like to share what they have learnt from it.

With my company paying up for each exam I take I do have it in the back of my mind that it would be a bit embarrasing if I was to fail an exam.

Certifications: ACTC, ACSP, MCP, MCDST, MCSA
    WIP: ACSA
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Never failed a cert exam yet... :biggrin

Got the odd crappy grade on other exams in the past...

Lets hope its stays that way, its a bit like being an undefeated champ, the stakes just get bigger... :blink

3. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Yep, i failed the 291 the first time i sat it. Makes you work harder for the second attempt and you have a good idea what you are up against the second time around.

Boyce

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  4. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

We're just talking about professional exams right?

The only exam that I've failed was my 70-296 (MCSE 2000 to 2003 upgrade), but passed it second time. I believe that I've failed the beta exams for the MCSE 2k3 to 2k8 exam and and MCSA 2k3 to 2k8 exam, but haven't received my score report yet (beta results can take 8 weeks to 6 months to come thru).

What I learnt from it:

1. No matter how much you learn, there is always something that you don't know.
    2. You're bound to fail at some point in your certification route and
    3. If you fail an exam, so what. Use that knowledge to help you pass the next one.