Any Linux Guys On Board?

Discussion in 'Linux / Unix Discussion' started by nXPLOSi, Apr 1, 2009.

1. nXPLOSi

nXPLOSi Terabyte Poster

Evening everyone!

Right, im a complete and utter newbie when it comes to Linux :oops:, never so much as a sight of it til this week really. Im hoping someone can help me out here. I now have a hosted server, with CentOs 5. Im trying to setup a user account for SFTP, which will only have access to one folder.

Im getting completely lost reading things left right and centre at moment, and would really appreciate any guidance offered into how I can do this.

Thanks,

Paul :blink

Certifications: A+, Network+, Security+, MCSA 2003 (270, 290, 291), MCTS (640, 642), MCSA 2008
    WIP: MCSA 2012
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

I haven't even touched Linux in the past couple years.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

This is actually fairly complicated to do. And the problem for me is that I don't have any experience of Centos.

There are a whole lot of interrelated questions here. For example, if you only want to allow SFTP and *not* SSH then it will depend on the version of OpenSSH on the system as to how easy that is to do.

The second bit is the restriction to the login directory. This will depend on the support for 'jails' in Centos. This may involve adding some packages. Or 'chroot' on the box may be sufficient.

In addition, as the server is hosted, you may be limited in what you can do. Perhaps asking the hosting company for some ideas would be the way forward?

On some distros there is a whole package available to handle all of this.

Edit: It is always worth a careful google - this is what I found...

Harry.