Any Idea's on on passing the MCDST

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by AuroraTech, Aug 20, 2007.

1. AuroraTech

AuroraTech Bit Poster

Hi there people, I am just wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction, I am studying for my 070-271 exam using the Microsoft Self passed training kit, with readiness review suit, I am scoring high 90's and 100% on numerous mock exams, also I am using the transcender software as well, scoring the same in that. Told by my tutors that I am ready for the exam, but this morning I failed the exam for the 2nd time. Getting slightly frustrated.

Any Help would be much appreciated,
    cheers

Aurora Tech

Certifications: CompTIA A+
    WIP: MCDST, MCSA, MCSE
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

How many times have you used the Transcender exams mate? If you do all the questions once or twice then you can remember the answers, therefore the score you get may be higher than usual.

How did you find the real exam?

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. AuroraTech

AuroraTech Bit Poster

Hi Sparky, thanks for the reply, I scored 677 on my first attempt, and 654 today, struggled with the network and protocols, and access to resources, I thought I found it OK. But my score does not imply that.

This one today seemed to be harder and I had revised more for this, just don't know what I am doing wrong.

Thanks for the reply

4. Sparky

Probably best to focus on those areas in the MS Press book and put the test questions to one side.

Remember the difference between share and NTFS permisions for access to resouces and you should be fine. 8)

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
  5. AuroraTech

AuroraTech Bit Poster

Cheers Mate, just gotta keep on going, Thanks for the advice

6. Sparky