Another new user introduction

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by FredL, Apr 27, 2009.

1. FredL

FredL New Member

Hello all!
    I found this forum after googling about a bit, and I'm quite unsure of what to do next.

So far, I have 11 years experience working in the IT industry. I'm a break/fix technician having worked primarily on hardware and Microsoft operating systems. Working as a field service engineer, replacing hardware on laptops, desktops and servers has been fun, but now I'm looking to expand my horizon.

About 6 months ago, I quit my job in Norway, and moved to the UK. I've been checking out different job sites and it seems I don't quite fit the criteria many employers are looking for. So I figured seeing I don't have a job at the moment I should work on getting some certifications. Problem is, I have no idea what direction to go. I've contacted CompuTrain to see what they can offer. And after reading a few posts here on the forum, I'm not sure that's the way to go either.

I would like to get a MCSE certification, but I don't have the suggested pre-requisite of having worked with user management and active directory in a 250+ user environment. And it seems I won't be able to get that experience because employers wants people who already have certifications so they don't have to train new staff.

It's a bit of a conundrum what I should do next. Self-study might take a long time, and I'm not sure I'd find employment while getting my self certified. Going for a training company seems like a good solution for me, but it also seems very fast paced, possibly also with a high fail percentage.

Anywho, that's me. Any suggestions or advise would be greatly appreciated. ;)

--
    Fred

Certifications: None
    WIP: Undecided
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)