Another Hello

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by skotbites, Jan 22, 2009.

1. skotbites

skotbites Bit Poster

Hey everyone I'm Scott been lurking here for around a week and just got around to join up.

I'm 29 and work in debt counselling I've always had a great interest in IT and have always wanted to work in that sector.

My problem is as probably with many on here, I have absolutely no qualifications in IT, I have little experience in IT support for my team at work also the usual tinkering and building pc's and home networks for friends and family.

I quite like my current job and really like the company I work for however I am looking at working towards an IT qualification should an IT position come up to allow me to be in a better position when applying.

I'm leaning towards the CompTia A+ and self studying. I cant really afford to take a pay cut which is another reason why I'd like to stay with the same company as the IT helpdesk role is the same salary grade that I'm on now.

I've heard ITIL banded about but not sure if this is too much too soon for me.

Any comments or suggestions would be welcome.

Cheers

WIP: CompTIA A+
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome:)

I Would say go for the A+ first as it will teach you the basics and set you up for getting futher/higher certifications in the future.

The A+ is geared towards people looking for their first IT jobs.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  4. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Welcome to the forums! A+ is a great place to start.