Another Hello Thread

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by blanch, Nov 16, 2007.

1. blanch

blanch Bit Poster

Hi everyone - being registered a while now but have being moving house so things have being on hold.

I'm looking to do an MCSE self study - i've got the determination to do self study as i have before.

Bit of background 1st, i have a BSc(Hons) Computing (2:1) which i believe gives me a base to start on, i also have a Masters in Business Studies but i've now decided i don't want to go down the Business route (it's always good to have though!)

More importantly - i have 2 years experience working 1st & 2nd Line support in an ITIL 'stylee' company - we mainly supported XP / Office and the usual suspects - as well as client specific software. I was heavily involved in Hardware support & less so in Exchange & Networking - although i do have some experience in the latter two. I've worked 8 months as an IT bod for a GP Surgery - but it was boring work, and i'm now working for the Council in an IT support role - but it is restricted as they have contracted out part of their IT support.

I'm looking to get through my MCSE 1st - and then go on after that to get my A+ & N+. I know this is really the wrong way round but i feel confident enough to go for my MCSE first.

So it's a hello to everyone - i'm sure i'll be popping up with plenty of questions and i'll try to help people myself.

David

Certifications: MCDST, 70-270, 70-290, MCTS
    WIP: N+, 70-291
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)

I would strongly recommend you doing the A+ & Network+ first before going for the MCSE. I have seen lots of people fail MS exams, especially the 70-291, and they work at level 3.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. blanch

blanch Bit Poster

Hi Ken,