Another CV - Criticisms?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Killian, Aug 27, 2010.

1. Killian

Killian Byte Poster

Hey all.

I've been working in a school for just over 2 years now and since starting, haven't had any other interviews anywhere besides applying to 20+ jobs over that time.

I'm beginning to think that my CV needs revising. I've read all sorts of articles on creating the 'killer' cv but I can never seem to get them to that point.

My CV is bloated. Too much information. I just don't know what to keep and what to cut.

Would appreciate it if the kind folk of Certforums could have a look through and give me some advice?

No need to be gentle :)

I've also attached the 'covering letter'. Would like if people could run their eyes over that for critiques too :)

Attached Files:

Certifications: See sig.
    WIP: Everything!
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Dude, I didn’t even bother reading all of that CV. The presentation is not good.

Why do you start every point with “To…. Etc. etc.”, it looks crap!

You need to revise the responsibilities for each job and make it easier to read.

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. Killian

Killian Byte Poster

Don't hold anything back Sparky :) lol

I think I used 'To' to give a complete sentance though can appreciate it may look crap. How do I revise the Job Responsibilities without taking out what I do? I've bullet pointed the main roles and things I do but if I cut it down isn't it going to look like I do less?

Maybe less is more in cases like this. If you didn't even bother reading it it doesn't bode well that an employer who has to go through a load would do the same :(

Any other advice anybody??

4. Sparky

Apologies mate. I may have come across a bit too harsh on the last post.