am i being naive

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by dizzy one, Nov 20, 2006.

1. dizzy one

dizzy one New Member

hi there,
    im new to this so bare with me, i have been to an interview this morning at a very impressive looking building to see if i would be accepted onto a home inspector training course, i knew there would be a fee involved but was shocked at how much £5,800 for 7 wks training and gain a diploma at the end of it they say they're registered with ABBE and this fee is only if i contract to them for 4 years once training completed otherwise its £9,800, i would have to get a loan as i dont have this kind of money lying around, this is something i really want to do (i currently work as a shop assistant) but how can i be sure i'm not about to be ripped off.
    cheers, xx

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

This sounds fairly typical of the trade.

Would this have anything to do with HIP? (The 'home inspector' bit sounds rather like it.) If this *is* the case you need to consider *very* carefully if this is what you want to do, as the whole of HIP may not happen.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. G1BB0

G1BB0 Nibble Poster

what is HIP if you dont mind my asking :blink

WIP: N+ & CCNA
  4. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

HIP=Home Information Pack.

An attempt to ease the path when selling a home, and looks like being caught by the 'Law of Unintended Consequences', as so many Government initiatives have been.

The other posibility lying behind the OP's course might be a proposed change in the way homes are values for local taxes.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  5. dizzy one

dizzy one New Member