Already experienced - where to start?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by ZZR1100, Feb 26, 2007.

1. ZZR1100

ZZR1100 Bit Poster

Hi,

ive been a computer engineer for 4 years. That was until 2003. Im still more than confident building and repairing PCs. Networking and server knowledge isnt too good though.

Question is - Would it be to much to go straight for the MCSE? or should i be looking at the A+ and N+ ?

What does the A+ cover? are we talking about the real basics? Installing RAM etc. Or will need to know about clock frequencies etc ?

thanks

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

A+ *is* basic - but when I studied for it I was surprised at how much I *didn't* know, despite years of dealing with PCs! :biggrin

So don't turn your nose up at it because it is basic!

N+ would be a good start on networking if you consider your knowledge to be shaky!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. ZZR1100

ZZR1100 Bit Poster

Thanks. Well ive got so many questions, but will try and pace myself. ;-)

Will the A+ and N+ count towards an MCSE ? ie. will i be able to skip any exams?

Will the N+ book i found on Amazon cover everything i need? Or are there a series of books required?

thanks!

incedently Harry - what areas of the A+ surprised you? What didnt you know?

4. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

No, but they do count towards MCSA.

No one book alone will cover everything you want to know. This is where using the software, reading the book, researching on the internet, forums, etc all come into play. The book will just be the start of the learning process.

5. ZZR1100

ZZR1100 Bit Poster

Sorry, what software are you referring to?
    I will be looking at the self study route with these courses, so if all the info isn't in the 'one' book. where would i know what other specific info i needed?

6. Stoney

Stoney Megabyte Poster