Aloha!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by StevoT, Mar 14, 2007.

1. StevoT

StevoT New Member

Hi guys and girls. I've been lurking around here for a while, but I decided to register today, so I thought I'd better introduce myself in here. Until last year, I was working in technical support (not IT related, it was printing inks!) until the company closed our branch :(

I'm studying part time, with the eventual aim of getting a job in IT. I already have a Diploma in Computing from Open University, and I'm still working towards my BSc (gaining CCNA by the end of the year on the way).

I have lots of 'non professional' IT experience. I play online games quite a lot, and as a result ended up creating a forum for the clan I'm a member of. We rent a Windows 2003 server, and I have installed mySQL, PHP, and phpNuke to run the forums and website, as well as creating the content for the site. It's been running for 2 years now, with an average of 1000 hits a day and nearly 300 registered users. I also have a little Java knowledge, although nothing too heavy, only stuff for my OU courses. I have built dozens of PC's for friends, family and friends of friends, and set up quite a few wireless networks. I get e-mails and phonecalls on an almost daily basis asking about PC problems!

Anyway, I'm rambling. I'm looking forward to being a member of this community, and hope that the support and advice that I receive will help me to find my first job in IT :D

Certifications: Diploma in Computing (OU)
    WIP: CCNA & BSc in Computing
  2. Quarky

Quarky Byte Poster

Hi Stevo,

Aloha yourself. :D

Sounds like you keep busy mate, cant beat a bit of gaming.

I see that you're based in Telford, not too far away from myself (Walsall).

I came accross a site which you might find useful to keep as a favourite...

http://www.entagroup.com/vacancies.php

You may already know of this but its a large internet based company in Telford which posts up vacancies when they crop up.