Allow myself to introduce... myself...

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by BC, Aug 18, 2010.

1. BC

BC Bit Poster

Hi everyone,

I've been reading this forum for some time but recently decided to register and start posting.

Short bit of background: I've been working in 3rd line support for the last 6 years, I caught a lucky break with my first contract and impressed and got moved up quickly.

In July 2008 I decided to do my MCSE and paid £250 or so for an online Microsoft course (wasn't the best use of that money). I soon realised there wasn't enough information in it to pass 70-290 so I bought the 4 core MCSE books from Amazon.

I did the 4 core exams quite quickly (all within 7 months) then failed 70-297 a couple of times. Decided to change direction and did 70-270 then 70-284 before trying 70-297 again.

Third time lucky I passed 297 and, after just under two years, became a very proud MCSE.

One thing that helped me with the studying was borrowing a couple of laptops from work, buying a second hand Linksys router from eBay and configuring XP and 2003 on the laptops then playing with every feature possible in each of the Operating Systems.

Whilst studying for the Exchange 2003 exam (284) I even went on a spending spree on eBay buying SCSI drives and adaptors so I could create clusters. All great fun.

When it came to taking exams I never read anything about the exams on forums until I had passed the exam. e.g. I didn't read anything about 290 until the evening after I'd passed and then I came on this forum and read other peoples' opinions/results.

The second exam I took was 291 so, as I didn't read about it beforehand, it wasn't until I'd passed it that I discovered it was the "Beast". Without knowing it was a tough exam I went in open-minded and, perhaps, more confident.