"Allow myself to introduce...me."

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by MasterDelgado, Feb 23, 2016.

1. MasterDelgado

MasterDelgado Nibble Poster

Hello,

So I'm a 40-something Brit based in Toronto, Canada transitioning into IT after about 10 years of copying and pasting text as a financial journalist. Probably a good time to quit since an algorithm could probably put together a readable business news story...

I've been playing video games for over 25 years with my gaming "career" starting off in 1989 with the Commodore Amiga, playing such games as 688 Attack Sub and Lucas Arts' Their Finest Hour. Back then, games came in boxes with actual manuals. Today, they call it DLC...

Got my first PC in 1996 and bought Star Trek: A Final Unity (never did finish it) and flying the Jane's Combat Sims: spent the most time on Longbow 2. Switched to consoles with the PS 1 (WipeOut, FIFA, Medal of Honor, Formula One '96, Metal Gear Solid) then PS 2 (Metal Gear Solid 2, Ace Combat) then jumped ship to XBox (Full Spectrum Warrior, Futurama, HALO 2) then XBox 360 (CoD 4, Mass Effect, Red Dead Redemption, Bad Company 2).

A few years ago I planned and built my own gaming rig and had a blast putting it together (and then playing Skyrim). I realized that maybe I can get a certificate in this. And last week, I took my first step into a larger world by passing my A+.

These days, I don't have that much time for games as I'm supposed to be studying for my IT certs but I recently got Fallout 4. Before that, I'd mess about with the crazy mods for GTA V. My rig: i5-2500K, GTX 970, 16 GB of RAM inside a spray-painted NZXT mid-tower.

IMG_3683.JPG

I'm aiming for the Network+ next, and in the meantime I'm applying for the usual entry-level help desk stuff as well as considering volunteering my time to get some hands-on IT experience. I do have writing and business networking skills from my time as a journalist but not sure if they'd be considered useful in IT.