Age Discrimination

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Rover977, Jul 2, 2008.

1. Rover977

Rover977 Byte Poster

Hi folks, I wanted to ask what some of your opinions are on the thorny issue of age discrimination in the IT field. Recently I have read a lot of articles on TechRepublic regarding this, and frankly it doesn't paint a very positive picture. I am age 42 and I have recently completed a course with SkillsTrain and gained the A+/N+/CCNA certs, and since that have been studying MSCA 2003 on my own. The question is though has my investment been a worthwhile one - what are other people's experiences re the age issue ?

What areas of IT are LEAST affected by age issues ?

(I used to be a C++ programmer and I know that that area was generally a very young group).

Certifications: A+, Network+, Cisco CCNA
  2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

I can't speak to the specific area you describe, but we old guys can generally find work as technical writers, authors and editors. :wink:

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  3. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Hi Rover,

You need to start applying for IT support roles and find out for yourself as am sure there would be age discrimination but done in a stealth way.

I would not let this deter me if I were you as I am not too far from the 40yr old mark and have not thought this to be a hindrance just yet. Lastly, your age does not need to be on your CV. I still think you'd been better off in the programming career field but believe you have your reasons as to why you're no longer pursuing this.

The IT tech support and network roles are very competitive as a lot of people have these skills and experience in this arena of IT. Best wishes and don't limit yourself eitherway:)

Certifications: MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003 Messaging, MCP, HNC BIT, ITIL Fdn V3, SDI Fdn, VCP 4 & VCP 5
    WIP: MCTS:70-236, PowerShell
  4. Mathematix

Mathematix Megabyte Poster