Advice - What type of job can i get?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Abbid, Oct 24, 2008.

1. Abbid

Abbid Bit Poster

Hi all, long time lurker, first time poster,

A bit of background:
    I studied computer science (programming) at uni and graduated in 2005, after a crappy job in a bank, i manged to land my first IT jon in Dec 2006. Tis was a support role for a small company of about 150 employees. When i started, there were 2 of us supporting the company but within 3 months of being there, my collegue left and i was told that he was not to be replaced, so since then i have been supporting the company alone.

I do everything from pc support, to servers, networking and everything in between. Everything to do with the network struture or hardware goes through me, so if the company decides to bring in new software (the most recent being CRM) i have a hand in getting it into the company and rolling it out to users.

needless to say, because i have my hand in quite a few pies here, i have gained exposure to a wide number of technologies.

A year ago i decided to gain some qualifications through my own funding. At the moment i am studying for the A+ (exam in nov).

the salary i am on right now in 13.5k, its lower that i was getting at the bank, but as anyone new to the industry, i needed the experience so i took the job. I have asked the company to increase it now that i have 2yrs exp and will be A+ certified soon but they have made it clear that they will not do so, and they arnt willing to help fund any of my studies.

With the way personal life it at the moment, i need to get more coming coming in so im looking for another job, but my question is what kind of job should i be looking for considering the experience i have currently.

I dont want to do 1st or even 2nd line support since sitting on the phone all day trouleshooting will bore me to death. i want something similar to what i have now where i am more hands on.

Any ideas?

2. onoski