Advice to which course to take please!

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Nursa, Jun 18, 2009.

1. Nursa

Nursa Bit Poster

Hi I'm a newbie to the forum and need some advice as to which course I should take to get back into IT study. Currently I work full time and would be studying in the evenings. In the long run I would like to be working within networking but would love a technician role to start with (as it seems thats the only way to 'get your foot in the door'

I have already gained a BTEC National Certificate for IT Practitioners (Networking) which I studied at college for 2 years, I passed this qualification around 4-5 years ago. The course was something along these lines:

http://www.sutcol.ac.uk/search.aspx?pid=98&aid=3&level=1&courseid=281&searchType=3

The second year was directly concentrated on networking and I passed the CISCO CCNA semester 1 of 4 during the this time (which I found complex), along with studying other areas.

Since passing that I haven't studied or worked in IT at all, what a waste I know :( And have forgoten the alot of stuff that I learnt although with a recap I'm sure it will come flooding back.

I went down to my local college this week on open day to enquire about taking either a comptia N+ or CCNA. They basically told me I could easily be applying for jobs with my BTEC cert which I found hard to believe, but he said schools and companies are screaming out for people like me in a technician type role and he gave me a few job leads to follow up on to which I was saying I NEED some sort of recap course to get my skills back on track. One was a technician in a school and the other a junior role in a networking company.

He said it was pointless to study the A+ because it would basically be going over the same stuff as my BTEC cert which I think could be true and would be a waste of money.

He then went on and advised a foundation degree which is this: