Advice Please!

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Weemez, Jul 5, 2005.

1. Weemez

Weemez Kilobyte Poster

Just joined the forum and looks very informative.
    I'm new to IT, completed and HNC in computing at college and now doing my A+ cert. I'm studying through Scheidegger and have taken on a pakage to continue onto N+, CCNA then CCNP. Doing fine so far! I am still trying to get into the IT field and am reluctant to at the moment as i have no hands on experience. How difficult is it for someone in my position to get employment because there seems to be a bit of a catch 22 situation as all job searches i use ask for experience. Do you think i am going down the right road as far as trying to get a good cert that will stand me in good stead for the future?
    Im also 27, will that be a hinderance! Any advice would be much appreciated!

Certifications: HNC Computing A+ N+ ICND1
    WIP: ICND2
  2. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster

Firstly, welcome to the site!

Secondly, I have no formal qualifications in IT (not even a standard grade), Although I have a A+ in progress (for about a year now *sigh*). I've just recently managed to secure a contract with an oil company providing service desk support. its only temporary, but its a start.

It can be difficult, at least to start with, but keep going with it. Resubmit your cv to the agencies every couple of months, and/or keep phoning them every week or two. You'll get there in the end!

Fergal

Certifications: ITIL Foundation; MCTS: Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2010, Administration
    WIP: None at present
  3. Weemez

Weemez Kilobyte Poster

Thanks mate, can only keep trying! :D

4. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster