Advice please

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by hibee, Oct 22, 2006.

1. hibee

hibee New Member

Hi everyone, this is my first post and I would be really grateful if some of you could share your expertise with me.

Let me first of all give you a quick summary of my current situation. I have been working as a printer since I left school seven years ago and although I was happy in this line of work for a while, over the past few years I have become increasingly frustrated with the lack of prospects in the industry.

I recently began exploring various avenues in terms of re-training. Due to shiftwork in my current job, I am unable to commit to a college course/evening class, so have been looking at distance learning options. I received a leaflet from Computeach and started to think a career in IT could be appealing to me. I have since had a course adviser visit me twice. On the second occassion I signed up for a course leading to the MCSE qualification, and paid the course fee of £5250.

Although I still had reservations, the opportunity to escape my current job led me to act in a somewhat hasty way. Now having read some of the reviews of Computeach here, and on other sites, I read the small print on the contract and was lucky to find a 14 day cancellation period existed! I have now activated this clause.

So... the point of my post! I have read a lot of postings on peoples views on self study and realise it is recommended as a convenient and cost-effective way to gain the A+ qualification. However, on most of these posts the person seeking advice has had some experience in IT. I on the other hand have none whatsoever.

Would people still reccomend books such as the Michael Myers one for people in my situation. ie does it take you from the very basics?

Any help would be gratelly appreciated.

2. csx

csx Megabyte Poster

Hi and welcome to CF! :)