advice needed regarding Database Administrator career.

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by peace786, Nov 18, 2008.

1. peace786

peace786 Bit Poster

Hi

I am not a novice in IT but have no formal ITqualifications. I used to work in finance but due to the credit crunch I have taken a hit and I need a career change. I understand that learning a specific field in IT takes hard work and that I am prepared for.

I want to go into an IT career where there is a possibility of freelance work/self employment as due to my family circumstances I would like to be somewhat in control and work from home if possible and I have heard that a database administrating may allow that.

How should I go about qualifying as a database administrator and what qualifications/certificate will I need. Do I have to slug it our working for someone after qualification or is there a chance to go as a freelances as soon as I get qualified.

Please can someone give me guidance?

p..s are there any other it fields where one can work locum/freelance/self employed?

2. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

UKDarkstar Terabyte Poster

You seem from your other posts to keep picking an area of IT and then asking how you go about studying for it and getting work in that area.

May I suggest that you list the IT skills that you do have so that we are not answering the same thing over and over again ?

In terms of freelance work i.e. self employed or contract positions, this can apply to any area of IT - it just depends whether there are clients out there who want your skills at the time you want to work.

Certifications: BA (Hons), MBCS, CITP, MInstLM, ITIL v3 Fdn, PTLLS, CELTA
    WIP: CMALT (about to submit), DTLLS (on hold until 2012)
  3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

There are *many* fields in IT that you can freelance at. In fact most of IT can be done that way.