Advice needed on small switching project

Discussion in 'Internet, Connectivity and Communications' started by millsie, Jan 3, 2014.

1. millsie

millsie Byte Poster

Hi all,

I have the privilege in my new role to take on a small networking project to separate a department of users away from one connectivity solution to another.
    Basically it will be a private vpn from one site to another over their private network, the vpn will be written on the checkpoint firewall and I will have help with this.

I have been tasked with patching the fibre connections in 2 cabs and one comms room in the same building, testing this to make sure it functions ok and then install a Cisco switch either a 3550 or 2960.

Once I have installed the sfp and connected the fibre I will have to migrate around 50 users from this department into the Cisco so that they can then get out onto the network. The part im not sure on as this is my first project doing this, is what config solution on the Cisco I need to route the traffic from the users down through the 2 cabs and into the comms/server room to hit the checkpoint firewall. Presumably the firewall will do the rest and put the traffic out onto the vpn.

Is it as simple as a static route with the address range of the users and destination of the firewall or will I need to put on access lists or policy routing? It seems like a simple plan but I have been asked to come up with a solution and dont want to over think it if I need something as simple as a static route.

Any basic advice would be great, I dont want anyone to help me with the config just a basic idea of what types of solution I could use.

Cheers in advance guys,

Millsie

Certifications: N+, CCNA, MCDST
    WIP: CCNP route 642-902
  2. FlashDangerpants

FlashDangerpants Byte Poster

Aren't you going to be given an interface on the Checkpoint that's inside your client IP range?

Certifications: MCITP Exchange 2010, MCSA Svr 2012
    WIP: Exchange 2013
  3. millsie