Advice needed on new career path! :)

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Dreamz, Mar 28, 2010.

1. Dreamz

Dreamz New Member

Hi all,

Thought I should register as I'm looking at doing the CompTIA A+ and Network+ exams soon.

I've decided to get back into what I know, that being IT/Software/Hardware, and am really looking for some guidance on doing this.

I've worked a career in retail management and am in my early 30s, now looking to step away from this and start thinking about a career in IT support/solutions.

Everything I know is self taught over the last 15-20 years, I'm your original kinda techy-type person, I recently sat the CompTIA A+ mock exam and passed 1st time despite not having worked in this field since I was about 18 (and even then it was only a very brief role as a Technician on my way through to management!).

I'm very knowledgable on PC's down to hardware/component level (building/fault finding etc) and also as an IT Account Manager I worked closely with IT Consultants & Companies in helping put solutions together (hardware/software/licensing) so am also familiar with a lot of networking/server side things as well (although I'll be the first to admit I've got a LOT to learn RE: server/more advanced networking).

I thought the best course of action (as I have no formal IT support work experience, although have worked in the IT retail/sales industry for the last 10 years or so and have always kept in touch with the techy side of things) would be to get my CompTIA A+ and Network+ down so that I can at least get my foot in the door somewhere? 1st line support to start? MCDST?

It's been suggested I also look at doing ITIL to combine that with my previous management experience? Whilst I know it will be a few years ahead and the course I take may vary by then, I'm aiming to get to a level such as MCSE/Network Manager etc, but who knows where it will take me! :D

All feedback appreciated! :)