Advice for an MCP Noob

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by rtmessiah, Oct 16, 2007.

1. rtmessiah

rtmessiah New Member

First question, do I really want to become the bad guy from Tron?

Now that I have got that out of the way, I'd like to ask for some advice. I am trying to orchestrate a change of career and would like to work in IT, possibly in support\administration.

I have no professional IT experience, though the first couple of years of my degree included all the courses from Applied Computing (which boils down to a bit of software development in c\c++ and IT 'transferable skills' (MS apps, HTML, VB e.t.c e.t.c).

I have only just stumbled on the whole MS certification thing tonight so clearly I have a lot of reading to do!

The main thing that has stopped me in my tracks is the cost of the training.

I was having a look at the requirements for MCDST (something I might consider doing) and this page:

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcdst/requirements.mspx

lists the following:

Exam 70-271: Supporting Users and Troubleshooting a Microsoft Windows XP Operating System

Course 2261: Supporting Users Running Microsoft Windows XP Desktop Operating Systems (three days)

Course 2261: Supporting Users Running the Microsoft Windows XP Operating System (12 hours)*

MCDST Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-271): Supporting Users and Troubleshooting a Microsoft Windows XP Operating System, Second Edition

Exam 70-272: Supporting Users and Troubleshooting Desktop Applications on a Microsoft Windows XP Operating System

Course 2262: Supporting Users Running Applications on Microsoft Windows XP (two days)

Course 2262: Supporting Users Running Applications on the Microsoft Windows XP Operating System (12 hours)*

MCDST Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-272): Supporting Users and Troubleshooting Desktop Applications on Microsoft Windows XP, Second Edition