Advent training

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by DeanoCheek, Nov 13, 2009.

1. DeanoCheek

DeanoCheek New Member

Hi guys,

i am a 19 year old personal trainer, i learnt all my skills at college and through an apprenticeship. :biggrin

i am now looking to move onto IT industry with Advent training, they sound all well and good promise me a job promise me this and that a salary of 30k in 3 years ETC.

I just wanted to know as im looking to pay nearly £6,000 for the course if any one has done the courses through Advent and how they found there services, and also where they are now and how they moved on upwards in there life after this?

any comments would be hugely greatful as i have to decide in two weeks, bear in mind i am a IT beginner only studying IT at GCSE level.

many thanks

2. vgarg

vgarg Nibble Poster

Hi

I would personally avoid Advent.

You best option is to self study starting off with A+ certification.

If you feel you can not self-study the look around your local colleges which may offer courses which are a fraction of a price compared to Advent.

Certifications: ECDL;CIW;HNC Business Computing
    WIP: A+;MCDST;N+;Bsc Computing
  3. ewqase

ewqase New Member

£6000 is quite a lot

I did my A+ via self study and a few old P.C's.

Try that first before you give away 6 large

As for the Job promise, how do they know you are good enough for a job in IT?

Certifications: A+ - Network+
    WIP: CCNA
  4. danielno8

danielno8 Gigabyte Poster

Whatever you do do not pay a training provider.

Search this forum for self study advice that has been posted. Ask here if you have any questions. Just don't line any tw*ts pockets with £6k whatever you do.

Certifications: CCENT, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  5. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

as has been said searching the forums will reveal a whole host of results.

welcome to cf btw. 8)

6. ericrollo

ericrollo Megabyte Poster

I would pay 6k just for my CompTIA A+.