AD and Exchange?!?!?!

Discussion in 'Software' started by orangepeeleo, Mar 11, 2010.

1. orangepeeleo

orangepeeleo Nibble Poster

Hey,

I have just finished my A+ and whilst searching and applying for 1st Line jobs i have found a number of them require experience of active directory and exchange??? Now i know what they are in so far as knowing that AD=User accounts related and Exchange=Mail server related, but i have no experience of using them, which brings me to 2 questions.

1. I have 2-3 years experience of helpdesk support, doing break/fix type stuff along with XP/2000 and Office support, now today i received a phone call with someone basically giving me a quick basic technical questions interview, stuff like do you have exp working a helpdesk, do you have exp working with peripherals etc etc, all of which i can say yes to confidently, then he dropped the dreaded Active Directory and Exchange experience phrase and i ofc said no, b/c i don't....... the line went kind of quite for a sec and then he carried on with what i detected as a hint of dissapointment! Now i'm not sure what the civilian IT support structure in a company is like i.e. who does what, but i've worked in a military first line environment and i have never worked with AD or exchange, have civilians that do the same role get hands on with AD?? Do companies think i'm lying about my experience when i say that i dont have exp of them?? Kinda like, "well he SAYS he has 3 years exp but he's never touched AD!!!! Next candidate!"