About Cisco Course

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by dolphin_m70, Jul 15, 2008.

1. dolphin_m70

dolphin_m70 New Member

hi
    Im new to this forum, thank you all for this good and helpful forum.
    I am currently for a non - IT organisation. but want to pursue my career in IT.
    i want to know the institutions which provide cisco training and as well experience.Im a graduate in computers
    do i have to learn A+,N+,MCSE and all before doing CCNA. is it a must bcoz i went to some institutions which provide all this for around 6000-10000 pounds which i cant afford.
    could anyone plz help me where to start.
    thx
    :D

2. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

UKDarkstar Terabyte Poster

CCNA is really only going to be of use if you are working in a Cisco environment.

The other certs you mention will be far more useful for general IT. Depending on your degree course you will need to evaluate whether or not the courses are useful or just duplicating knowledge you already have. As for MCSE, if you search the forums you will find numerous threads detailing who this is aimed at - predominantly people who have been working in a server environment for at least a year.

A+ etc. would perhaps get you into an entry level postion (as would MCDST)

Certifications: BA (Hons), MBCS, CITP, MInstLM, ITIL v3 Fdn, PTLLS, CELTA
    WIP: CMALT (about to submit), DTLLS (on hold until 2012)
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

What he said ^

Welcome:)

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  4. kevicho

kevicho Gigabyte Poster

I wouldnt say A+ or Network+ is a prerequisite for this course, what i would say is knowing what i know from doing these, and also experience in the field has made most of the subjects so far be a lot more digestable.

Look at it this way, say you are a trainee mechanic, would you be able, or be sane, to try stripping an engine straight away?