AAAAARGHHH!!!! - EFS!!!

Discussion in 'Software' started by zebulebu, Oct 23, 2006.

1. zebulebu

zebulebu Terabyte Poster

nnnghhhhh.

Hoping the kudos I've built up here from helping people out in the past will help me out of a jam.

I've never worked with EFS before (strange, I know, for a security bod!). I have an encrypted folder which is stored on one of my PCs. Unfortunately, that PC went south last night (PSU exploded, taking the Mobo, RAM, GPU, CPU and gawd knows what else with it).

Luckily, the HDD survived the catastrophe. However, when I stick it in a different box, despite being able to see the encrypted folder, and the files stored within it, I can't open them - either with a domain admin account or with the account that encrypted the folder in the first place.

Has anybody else had any experience with EFS? I have exported the Domain Admin account's keys, but am at a loss as to what to do with them!

Certifications: A few
    WIP: None - f*** 'em
  2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Which OS is this Zeb as EFS recovery varies slightly between 2K and XP etc?

Also, were you able to boot up with the original operating system in the new hardware or did you have to do a parallel install?

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  3. zebulebu

zebulebu Terabyte Poster

Cheers BR

The original OS was XP, all I've done is pull the drive from the FUBARed box and shove it into a 2K box. I was hoping that doing this would allow me to access the data using the domain account I encrypted it with (the folder concerned is on a data partition)

4. Mr.Cheeks

Mr.Cheeks 1st ever Gold Member! Gold Member

would linux live or bartpe not work in this case?

5. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

No mate, you need a secret key :wink:

6. Mr.Cheeks

Mr.Cheeks 1st ever Gold Member! Gold Member

thats a bi7ch then, about SprinRite?

7. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster