A+ passing rate percentage (approx)

Discussion in 'A+' started by Phiggles, Jan 20, 2009.

1. Phiggles

Phiggles Bit Poster

Hi all,
    ive been studying for my A+ with a known teaching company for a few years but stopped a lettle while in as acouple of things happened.

I have now restarted my study, using A+ for dummies, Sybex A+ complete along with Testout navigator software. With the software i have been getting typically between 85 - 90% correct on sim questions but....... on the "typical exam sim" it states the passing rate is 95%, surely its not that high for the proper exam?

Im pretty happy with 85 -90% if that will get me a pass in the Essentials exam.

This is a pretty good forum from what i have seen and read and i others can help me and i can help them to.

Many thanks

Phil

Certifications: A+
    WIP: 70-270
  2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hi there,

Welcome to the forum.

It's important to use the testing software correctly once you are happy with all the concepts you have covered. If you take small amounts of questions at once you will get a more realistic result than taking mass amounts of questions and remembering them "parrot fashion".

Good luck

Simon

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  3. Evilwheato

Evilwheato Kilobyte Poster

Aim for 85% and you should be fine- I don't think it's as high as 95%!
    Essentials is 675/900 and IT Tech is 700/900, however questions are weighted, and some questions carry no marks :)

4. Phiggles

Phiggles Bit Poster

I did think 95% was a bit high, it maybe that the software puts it that high so you would then have no trouble passing the real exam.
    Ive done questions at the end of sections on the software, at the very end theres 6 domains- excludinding the exam one, ranging from 30 - 180 questions covering everything in each, so then i should be happy with 86% or above then if thats the case, i keep putting off booking it, dont want to fail, lol.