A few Questions

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by Rob1234, Dec 19, 2007.

1. Rob1234

Rob1234 Megabyte Poster Forum Leader

Hi, I have a few questions, even though I am currently studying for my Network+ my manager wants to know what other training I will be doing next year, as I only started my N+ a few weeks ago I probably won't sit the exam till May-June time. Then I will look at doing the MCDST but my boss wants to know what training material I will need and how much it will cost so they can work out my training budget for next year (including my N+). So my questions are:

1) I was thinking of getting the MS press books and the exam cram books for each exam, and the transcender CD-ROMs. Does that seem like enough? What would you recommend?

2) Also my manager says that I can do other types of training for the MCDST, such as training courses, online training etc. but I'm not too keen on training courses as I prefer to study at my own pace, do you know any other type of training I could do?

3) Last question, I also want to upgrade the MCDST to include the Vista exam but on Microsoft's website it shows these three courses but which one should I upgrade to? Is there a standard route or does it depend what sort of work I do?

4)Thought of another question I read that the exams cost £88 is that correct that seems cheap compared to CompTIA not that I'm complaining!

Thanks for taking the time to read this. Any info would be appreciated :D

Certifications: A few.
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Forget Network+... just go straight for the CCNA...

...no experience required. :thumbleft

(DISCLAIMER: parody thread)

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award