A few questions from a newbie RE: A+

Discussion in 'A+' started by Top_Banana, Jan 22, 2009.

1. Top_Banana

Top_Banana New Member

Hello all,

I've had a good read through the forum, and you all seem like a friendly bunch, so I thought I'd ask a few questions, if I may. Some of the questions may seem quite daft, but I'm just looking for a friendly steer......:D

I'm 27, from Birmingham and have been looking at a career in IT. I have no relevant work experience. I also have very little work experiemce in any sector due to ill health. However, I am now fully fit and able to get on with my career.

My only current IT qualification is a GCSE in IT from 1997.:oops:

Anyhoo, here are the questions:

1- I have the chance to do the A+ at a local uni' full time over 2 weeks. Does the course presume any prior knowledge, or is everything taught 'from scratch'?

2- If I successfully pass the course, will that be enough to gain employment in IT support (etc)? I find it incredible that you can study for just 2 weeks and then get an IT job! How can you possibly learn everything you need to know for IT support in just 2 weeks?!

3- I'm 27, so I'm hardly likely to get a 'trainee' job. Plus with my lack of experience, I'm really worried that I won't be able to get a job. Can you offer any advice?

4- I plan to do the MCDST after the A+. Will this increase my employability?

Many thanks in advance!8)

2. Gingerdave

Gingerdave Megabyte Poster

Hi and welcome to the forums

your points in order:

1) if you have no experiance that is going to be a lot to retain as that is one week per exam with all the training, I would personally stay clear. The A+ is a really good start but not in that time frame.

2) you might get an IT job on that but it would be deffinatly bottom of the ladder kind of thing.