A+ exam type.. help!!! :-/

Discussion in 'A+' started by Benny30, Feb 21, 2011.

1. Benny30

Benny30 Bit Poster

Hi guys,
    I'm looking into self-study for the A+ qualification. However, reading about it there seems to be two types of exam objective.. 2006 whereby you do the Essientials which appears to be the 220-701 exam, then choose between Remote Technician, Depot Technician and 2 others for a 2nd exam, or the 2009 one where you do the 220-271 and then the 272 which is the Practical Exam which is a "extension of the knowledge and skills identified in CompTIA A+ Essentials, with more of a "hands-on" orientation focused on scenarios in which troubleshooting and tools must be applied to resolve problems".

Are they the same thing?! How will I know what to study for..?
    I'm planning on studying from books and downloading nuggets as material.

I really don't want a practical "take a pc apart and have a look" kind of exam, which is why I am studying at home instead of classroom based training. My friend did the A+ and said it was nothing to do with practical things and was purely theory... so i'm confused! :-s

Any guidance you may have would be greatly appreciated :-)

Thanks,

Ben.

2. Simonvm

Simonvm Kilobyte Poster

The 2006 version is retired by now.

That narrows down the options for ya :p

Certifications: MCITP: EST, MCDST, MCTS, A+, N+, CCNP, CCNA Wireless
  3. Benny30

Benny30 Bit Poster

Thanks for the reply..

So that does narrow things down a bit, so I don't have to choose between remote tech/depot tech etc...
    So could anyone help me with what the 2nd exam consists of? Do I actually have to attend a lab and rip a pc apart as part of the exam? Can the 2nd exam still be done with self study at home?

Thanks.

4. BosonJosh

BosonJosh Gigabyte Poster

Both A+ exams are multiple-choice style exams that are completed at a testing center...there is no lab component for the A+. You can use self-study to prepare for both exams.

5. Benny30