"A Day in the Life Of..." First Line Support

Discussion in 'A+' started by Arroryn, Feb 25, 2009.

1. Arroryn

Arroryn we're all dooooooomed Moderator

I'm an A+ and Network+ certified tech, working on the MCDST.

I've worked under the job title 'First Line Support Analyst' since landing my first IT job just over two years ago. I work in the legal sector.

With a lot of debate going on recently about what First Line work could entail, I thought I'd post up a "standard" day for me (ie, today).

Maybe some others would be encouraged to do it, to give people a taster of what the nitty gritty world of IT can involve, no matter what level you're labelled at being :)

A Day in the Life of "First Line" - Arro

3:25am - Wake up five minutes before my alarm. Lay there in zen-like silence thinking buggerbuggerbuggerbugger before turning off the alarm so it doesn't wake up the snoozing other half.

3:45am - Leave house to drive to work. My main route in is closed, so I have to take a detour - it takes about 10 minutes more than usual.

4:35am - Arrive at work. Lights on, bag down, kettle on.

4:55am - 1.00pm (no lunch - voluntary - grab something to eat at desk whilst working on calls) - Log into helpdesk to check any calls from overnight. Start going through mail traps. Get three laptops I set to image overnight renamed and on the domain so I can start working on 'em for deployment to different departments.

Take a few sundry support calls mainly related to one of the reimages I'm doing.

Upgrade the RAM on 6 laptops I have sitting waiting for me to check asset records and AD before allocating out to users. Check each for basic functionality before bagging up.

Drink about 2 litres of coffee in 3 hours.

Compile a memo scheduling a reimage of every PC we have in the building for an up and coming project. Check the WIP for the team and helpdesk tickets for the rest of my first line guys as they start rocking in.