A+ CPU question!!!

Discussion in 'A+' started by keane14, Dec 14, 2008.

1. keane14

keane14 Bit Poster

Hi Guys,

Just wanted to ask how much do you need to know about the generations of CPU's there has been for the exams? I am studying these at the moment and taking notes but seem to be getting bogged down with all the imformation on the generations of CPU's. I am supposed to be taking notes but seem to be almost writning the whole book word for word, bearing in mind i am a begineer. I have read the book through a couple of times and have decided i would be a good idea to take some notes and hope to make things stick a bit better. Any help or advice would be great!!!!!!!!!!!

Regards,

Thanks in advance!!!!

Certifications: Comptia A+ 2009 Edition
    WIP: Network +
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Try and lean the slot type and package type of each cpu, you may get lucky and get no questions on cpus but I did, so it's best to learn it.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Mathematix

Mathematix Megabyte Poster

CPU collection.

The are a weath of other sites out there with detail via Google. :)

Certifications: BSc(Hons) Comp Sci, BCS Award of Merit
    WIP: Not doing certs. Computer geek.
  4. mattstevenson

mattstevenson Byte Poster

Learning things like this is quite difficult. Really, on the job you don't need to know every single socket, processor and everything about it. I'd concentrate more on the ones that are a bit different, the Slot 1 Pentiums for instance. I got a question about that, something about it's connection I believe. It's rare nowadays that you even encounter them, since they're PII/PIII era.

I don't know what to tell you really. You could gamble and learn just the basics, or you could just force yourself to know it inside out. Thing is, you're likely to stumble upon other areas of the course where you're presented with the same options.