A couple of MCSA / MCSE questions

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Inspiration, Aug 23, 2008.

1. Inspiration

Inspiration Bit Poster

Hello again!!

A few may remember I posted a couple of posts earlier in the year about MCDBA and other Microsoft qualifications. At the time I wasn't sure what to do, and I'm still not sure what to do.. the only difference is this time I'm determined to shut myself in a room and actually get these exams studied and completed rather than just dream about it.

To recap on who I am.. I've around 12 years IT experience ranging from 1st line internet support to hosting support.. to setting up and building an SQL 2000 database that 40 people use daily. I've experience of Windows server, some exchange experience, experience of all major Windows OS and I like to think I'm the right type of person to take the Microsoft exams.

My aim is to get some Microsoft qualifications under my belt to help me in the future with future jobs. I won't be in my current one forever and I'd like to place myself in a good position when the time comes.

So my rough plan at this stage is as follows:

- Get MCSE
    - Get MCSA
    - Get MCDBA

I've a couple of questions that are confusing me right now.

My plan for MCSE includes these exams: 70-290, 70-291, 70-293, 70-294, 70-270, 70-297, 70-228 (whew!)

I then started to look up MCSA and the site seems to suggest I can gain an MCSA with the above exams I've already taken. Am I missing something? Surely I must be? I can't understand how I could become an MCSA by just becoming an MCSE. There must be a catch to that? Have I slipped up?