A couple of hardware issues

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tripwire45, Oct 30, 2003.

1. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

I upgraded a computer in a chemical lab yesterday. The problem I am describing has nothing to do with the upgrade. The lab techs mentioned it to me while I was there. Their HP laserjet 4 printer spits out a number of extra pages after printing. The pages are blank except for a small plus and minus sign located in one of the corners of each page. The printer seems fine otherwise. I printed off a test page from printer properties and it printed fine and without extra pages spewing out. I'm no printer expert here. Anyone know what this is about?

Also, when I was out there today to install some backed upfiles onto this computer, I checked the settings on the attached APC UPS and got a message saying that UPS service has stopped. The PC knows a UPS is attached but can't identify the maker or type. Power goes through the UPS to get to the monitor, PC, etc, but I can't figure out how to start the UPS service. I tried cycling the power on the UPS itself but it made no difference. The lab techs couldn't find the drivers or paperwork on this particular UPS (they found them for a similar device by APC, though...and it wasn't helpful). I went to APC's knowledge base but this issue wasn't covered. I sent an e-mail to tech support (my kingdom for a phone number) describing the problem and am (supposedly) going to receive a reply within 24 hours. Any ideas?

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  2. Nelix
    Honorary Member

Nelix Gigabyte Poster