A+ 2006 and MCE

Discussion in 'A+' started by Chris-H, Dec 6, 2006.

1. Chris-H

Chris-H Bit Poster

Hi All

I've been working towards my A+ cert using the MM book for 2003 objectives however I've now realised that I'm not going to be in the position to pass both exams by March 2007.

After reading the 2006 objectives I note that knowledge of Win 95/98/ME appear to no longer be required as it refers to only 2000,XP and MCE.

As I've used computers for many years my knowledge of 9x and ME is pretty much sound and I'm comfortable with 2000/XP however I have never used MCE.

My understanding is that MCE is based on XP but has a glorified front end. Will knowledge of XP and treating MCE as XP be enough to get me though or should I think about buying a copy of MCE?

Thanks

2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

IMHO MCE is as close to XP pro as you can possibly get, in other words, I see no difference apart from the fact that it has a pretty awesome media centre application. It's like media player on steroids.

There isn't much to learn about media centre, even the experts have trouble getting it to play nicely with specific hardware. The complexities of the media centre component are way above the level of knowledge required for the A+.

MCE media centre is not the front end. The Windows GUI is the same as XP Pro, it's only when you click on the media centre icon, that the front end graphics changes to something which is more user friendly to those using remote control and watching on a large screen. When you close media centre you are back to XP.