70-680 booked, anything I need to do before then?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 / 8 /10 Client Exams' started by Lozler, Jul 15, 2011.

1. Lozler

Lozler Bit Poster

Hi there guys, I'm completely new to Microsoft certifications and have been doing the 70-680 using Testout which is like CBT nuggets and all of those other computer based traning programs. I've been using Windows 7 near release date, so i'm picking up most of the content quite fast.

My question is, do I need to sign up and get a Microsoft ID or anything like that?

For example, for my CompTIA A+ exam, I had to sign up with both CompTIA and Pearson Vue and this synced my results and then i was able to get my 'Sucess Kit'.

For this Microsoft exam, i'm using Prometric for the first time and have ONLY signed up with prometric to book the exam. Do I need to do anything else?

Got it booked on tuesday after work, wish me luck!

2. ChrisH1979

ChrisH1979 Byte Poster

You will get an email from Microsoft when you pass. If it is your first time they will ask you to link it to a live ID so you can get access to the MCP site. It doesn't matter if you have an ID before or get one after you have passed. You are basically linking a prometric ID to a Microsoft ID which is tied to your Live ID. Hope that makes sense ;)

Certifications: MCITP:SA, MCSA, MCTS:Win 7, Application Infrastructure
    WIP: MCITP:EA
  3. karan1337

karan1337 Byte Poster

You'll get your MCP ID when u pass the exam.

Best of luck.

Certifications: MCP, MCDST, MCTS, Brainbench: XP and Vista [Master]
    WIP: Bachelors:Computer Science
  4. Lozler

Lozler Bit Poster

Ah cheers guys! I didn't think this exam would qualify me for the MCP site, thought I had to get a full qualification like the MCITP or MCSA etc? Cheers for your help guys, will let you know how I get on, got the weekend to revise :D

5. karan1337

karan1337 Byte Poster