70-291, failed! Any advice?

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by AddyR, Dec 7, 2010.

1. AddyR

AddyR New Member

Hi, I am new on this forum and would like some advice please

I failed 291 on 11/24, got 673. I've been studying about 5 hours/weekdays for about 2 months and thougth I was redy for I was getting 900 points on self tests. I've been reading the MS Press book, I read 20-791 books on Kindle, doing self tests, reading explanations on every question, but I did failed anyways! I dont have experience on Server, nor do I work in IT industry. I am usually motivated but many times find myself reading the books pages twice and content just does not stay on my head!! Just so you know, I am a slow reader for English is my second language (that explains my grammar lol).

The tests questions were surprisely shorter than the self test questions, I did get about 11 simulations (not kidding) but those were short simulations. I really dont know where to start now. I do have a second shot voucher I can use to retake it, but I am just so affraid to do it soon. I do have MS Readiness Review Suite, I might start reading over the questions (300 of them). I went through 234 self test questions and 540 flash cards trying to understand and memorize before I took/failed test.....:cry:

Anyways, I will really appreciate any comments/advice for me, and I apologize for my grammar.

Addy

Certifications: MCP, MCTS:Vista, Security+
    WIP: MCSA, MCSE, CCENT
  2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Many people fail this exam first time, and it is considered one of the tougher exams you will encounter on your certification journey.

I don't think you missed passing by much and would just spend some time focusing on the weak areas you had and get back on your horse and re-sit it.

You will nail it next time i'm sure! 8)

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  3. Kitkatninja