70-290 Preperation

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by Ally, Oct 8, 2005.

1. Ally

Ally Byte Poster

As i mentioned earlier i sit the exam on Monday and am a bit worried about it. I am doing my MCSE thru an IT training company so my provided materials are the Microsoft Multimedia and the MOC 70-290 which i have also been provided!I am not currently working in IT as am dedicating all my time to try and get qualified as quickly as possible.
    This slightly worries me that i have no hands on experience of Server 2003 in an IT environment. I have a test lab set up at home but due to cash limitations only have 1 DC and 2 XP clients, which i use extensively. However im still not sure if that will be enough and also if the MOC book used along with the Microsft web site will give me the required knowledge to pass!! Can anyone give me there opinion on this???

thanks

Certifications: 70-270, 70-290, 70-291 & 70-294
    WIP: 70-293
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

If you know your topics inside out then you should be ok.

MAke sure that you thrash the hell out of your lab, and do all of the practice labs in your books.

Although you only have one actual server to play with you will need to make sure that you are fully aware of how servers comunicate with each other, and how they replicate information between different sites.

8)

3. nugget
    Honorary Member

nugget Junior toady

Hi Ally. It seems like we're in the same boat only a couple of months apart though. I started my course 3 weeks ago with the plan being 290, 291, 270 and then 350. Talk about the deep end. I also think the MOC is nowhere near enough information you need to have. It's a bit late now but I would have advised you to
    get VMWare and try to set your 'lab' up like the MOC setup. I've done this and it's a big help.