70-290/ MCSA Lab setup

Discussion in 'Networks' started by Asterix, Aug 12, 2009.

1. Asterix

Asterix Megabyte Poster

Hi there,
    I am looking into setting up a home lab for the 70-290 exam as i am currently studing for this exam and need to get further hands on experience (looking ito take exam in about 2-4 months) and was wondering what options i have as not too sure of the capibillities of my server or the best way to setup my kit and whether i need to obtain more kit. As my server has 8 Hdd's i would like to implement a RAID system (raid 5??) as i have no experience of setting up RAID! Is anyone useing/familiar with this server or know if it has enough power to use virtulisation software to run as multiple servers setup? I am assuming that virtuliastion software is implemented after installing the OS (2K3)?
    I have listed below the kit i currently have.
    any advice/suggestions would be greatly appriciated.

KIT:
    I have a large Poweredge 4600 server (with 4gb ram, 8HD's etc) this system originally came with Server2K installed, a couple of XP laptops and an xp desktop that is a couple of years old, lots of Cisco routers, Cisco switches (2950's) and lots or various items (Input devides/ Monitors/cablingHP 10-Port KVM ETC)

SOFTWARE:
    I have copies of XP, Server2K3, but no virtulisation software but could possible source VMWARE/MS virtulisation software from work.

Thanks,
    Craig

2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hi,

As far as the RAID is concerned, you will need the manufacturers software/boot disk for that.