7 Years Experience, MCSA:Messaging + ITIL Foundation

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by mad_maxx, Nov 23, 2009.

1. mad_maxx

mad_maxx Bit Poster

Hi there,

I've spent the past six months working in an ITIL process management role. Prior to this I have over 7 years of experience, working in a mix of 1st, 2nd and 3rd level support.

I would like to move back into a customer facing technical role. I do not feel that my skills and talents are geared towards process design or management, and felt far happier when I was having to solve problems and deliver technical solutions to end users.

I am highly doubtful that my current employers would be willing to move me out of my current role, as they perceive me to be doing well at it.

Depending on how things go over the next few months, I am possibly going to consider looking at applying for desktop support roles.

I have acheived MCSA:Messaging and ITIL v3 foundation certification, though since working in the process management role, I find that a lot of the technical knowledge I had isn't on the tip of my tongue anymore.

If I was to apply for a desktop support role, how could I improve my credentials, and would it be unrealistic to expect a sallary of £25-27k in the Midlands?

Cheers

MaX

Certifications: MCSE:Messaging
  2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Well there is no harm in letting them know that you miss the hands on technical stuff and would appreciate it, if they would consider moving you back into that line of work and that you would understand if that meant a lower salary.

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  3. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

For a desktop support role, yes I think 25-27k would be unrealistic in the midlands. I think for that kind of work £18-22K would be more realistic. Good luck with whatever you decide to do though matey.