3 months in IT - Very little prior experience.

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by JohnC, Jun 12, 2017.

1. JohnC

JohnC Bit Poster

I've got very little prior experience in IT, but somehow landed a job as a technician with a great company. I currently have no certifications but plan to take the CompTIA A+ exam. Does anyone have any advice regarding what certifications I should go for first, or just any advice for IT in general.

2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Congratulations John. A+, N+, Security+ will give you a rock solid foundation. From there you can decide what's next, Microsoft, Citrix, VMware, or maybe go the developer route who knows. So many avenues to take once you get more into IT. The only thing I'd say is don't try to run before you can walk as this is a recipe for failure. Some of these exams require a year or two in a particular role before most should sit the exam. This is just to gain experience and make it a fairer test of skills. The certs listed here however are all ideal first certs. Best of luck, Jim

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP
    WIP: Google Cloud Certs
  3. JohnC

JohnC Bit Poster

Thanks Jim. I'll be going A+ then Network+ first, as that's what is required for the next pay scale with the company I'm with.

JK2447 likes this.
  4. cybertweet

cybertweet New Member

Good luck, I'm on the same path but just don't have a role within IT yet. I've been poking around cybery website which has A+ course videos to get a sense of what it's all about!!

5. JohnC

JohnC Bit Poster