1st read through done

Discussion in 'A+' started by Pheonicks56, Feb 27, 2009.

1. Pheonicks56

Pheonicks56 Kilobyte Poster

Well I've finished reading through my Sybex for the first time and took all the practice quizzes after each chapter, averaging 17/20. Now I'm going back through while using some flash cards to really retain more of that info. Hopefully I'll be signing up to take that test in another couple of weeks, I am about to finish my last class for my Associate's and will have two weeks before I start my next class in my Bachelor's program, I really need to use the downtime to nail this cert. Any advice on studying to maximize my time?

Certifications: BSIT, AAIT, A+
    WIP: Network+
  2. loneferret

loneferret Byte Poster

Which book are you reading? And good luck. When ever I'm studying, I start off by reading it once (like you just did), then read it a second time while taking notes as I go along.
    You'll ace it I'm sure...
    Have fun...

EDIT: A+ sorry just saw in which section this was in.. lol

Certifications: MCDST/N+/L+/i-Net+/CIW/OSCP/OSCE
    WIP: MCTS 70-662
  3. Metalstar

Metalstar Kilobyte Poster

Sounds like you have a good plan. I read through the books once then go back and concentrate on anything I know I am not 100% familiar with.

Flash cards work really well for me. I only actually discovered this when I was learning a language and the repetition involved just hammered it in! There are plenty of free apps for PC based flashcards/easy printing or your own lists.

I'd use them to learn certain terms or to remember IRQ numbers etc! Its a shame flash cards don't work so well for the conceptual/practical stuff.

Certifications: A+
  4. soundian

soundian Gigabyte Poster

Go through as many tests/exams as you need to identify your weak spots and concentrate on them.